Lifestyle

WIPs

WIP. A Work In Progress. I have many. So many. More than is really advised or necessary!

The trouble is, I get so excited by the prospect of making all those wonderful patterns that exist that I completely over look the fact I have 14 things already on the go as well as the instructions and materials for several more!

Aside from the many projects on my WIP shelf (yes, there are enough to warrant their own shelf) and the ever-expanding Ravelry list (obvs), there’s also the mental list. You know how it is, someone announces they’re expecting a wee babe so you make a mental note to be aware of when they’re going to reveal whether it’s a boy or girl so you can therefore colour coordinate your gift. Then someone else announces they’ve bought a house, and in time you ask some innocuous questions to discreetly find out the colour themes of the different rooms. Plus there’s those occasions when a friend is telling you something and it triggers a reaction in your brain-‘oo yes, they would LOVE so-and-so, it would make their lives COMPLETE if I made one of those for them. It would become an HEIRLOOM passed down from one generation to the next’ and you find yourself in a little happy place of planning and completely ignoring anything that’s being said to you.

Don’t get me wrong, I love making things for other people. I love the process and I love seeing the smile and appreciation of receiving something handmade. And really, that’s what it’s all about ☺️

How about you? How many WIPs are on your shelves?!

💜

Leave a Reply

