Sewing · World Cup project

Labels and knitting bags

I often make presents for friends for their birthdays or as house-warming gifts, but more often than not as gifts for the babies and children because I’ve reached ‘that’ age. It’s something I love to do, usually more than making things for me or my home!

With all the beautiful crafts making a resurgence these days I was never sure if it was realised that they were made by me. And really, that didn’t matter too much – yes you want it to be known that you put a lot of love and time into the gifts because these people are important to you, but as long as they like the gift for what it is, what does it matter where it comes from?

Pretty much everyone who knows me knows that I like to knit, crochet, sew and probably several other things I’ve not realised yet. I thought it would be great if I could add something to these gifts to make them more personal. Something, that when they spotted it would make them realise that I made it. Not necessarily that I designed it – and I would never dream of trying to pass off someone else’s beautiful design – but that I brought that design to life, for them. So, I had some little labels made!! (And boy, was I excited when they arrived in the post!)

I think it’s the perfect thing to add to my gifts. And, so I did! I have recently taught a very good friend of mine how to knit, and it seemed only appropriate he keep his yarn project in something suitable of the brilliant thing he was creating.

Far better than a plastic bag, don’t ya think? Plus, another tick on the World Cup Project list 😉

What gifts are you making at the moment?

x

7 thoughts on “Labels and knitting bags

Leave a Reply

