Review

The Month in Review – July

Wow what a month it’s been!

I thought it would be nice to recap ahead of what will probably be a fairly quiet August and September as I head into my busiest time in my day job. Don’t get me wrong, I really like my job (most of the time) but I wish it left me more time and energy for crafting!

So, July kicked off midway through my World Cup Project, with my table runner made from Bonnie & Camille April Showers fabric that I picked up at my local haberdashers.

There was the slight mishap that came with my boxy pouch. Although I fixed it up (always read the instructions properly guys and gals) and its now PERFECT for keeping all my sewing bits and bobs in as I travel around with my projects,  I really liked how the unexpected version looked so I’ll be keeping that in mind for future projects!

I made a couple of mandalas using a pattern by Attic 24 for our bedside tables:

I love the way they pick out some of the colours from my Cath Kidston cushions I made a while back that now sit on our bed:

Made from Cath Kidston material and pom-pom edging

And ooooo, I made some softies by Retro Mama which went down a storm with the wee recipients whole family!

Remember I bought some fabulous Zpagetti yarn? Well, I made the Holden basket by Made With Loops with some of it, and Heike very kindly shared my photo on Instagram where it got a whole lot of Instagram lovin’!

I’m so glad she liked my interpretation of her pattern.

A lovely friend of ours is leaving the country very soon to teach abroad for a few years. He is a wonderful person and a fantastic teacher and he’s going to do so well on his adventure. He’ll be greatly missed. So, wanting something lightweight and practical that he may choose to take with him, I made a triple-zip pouch.

Looking ahead I really need to finish my Christmas table runner. It’s been too long in the making. Well, two years to be precise. Handmade presents for friends always seemed to take priority! Speaking of which, I already know a few people who will be getting knitted gifts this Christmas so I’d better get started on those projects.

I have my Jenny’s Faith shawl that is coming along nicely:

20140730-210511-75911196.jpg

And I have a metre of this BEAUTIFUL Cath Kidston fabric:

I really want to do something special with this, so if anyone has any ideas, do please let me know.

Aaaaaaaand, don’t tell the Other Half but I might have popped to the local again…………………. I quite fancy a Zpagetti pouffe! But I’m now on a very strict yarn diet. For a month at least!

20140730-220220-79340836.jpg

Happy creating everyone!

x

P.S. Everyone has a selfie with a triceratops, right?!

Leave a Reply

