Lifestyle · Running

I Am A Runner

You may (or may not) know that I am a runner. This doesn’t mean I’m very fast, nor am I a specimen of athleticism. I can’t run very far (in comparison to other runners) but I love to run, and that’s what makes me a runner.

In many ways it doesn’t matter how fast I go or how far I go; the fact I’m out there is the important part.

I’ve toyed with running for the last 7 years or so, doing a little bit here and there, taking part in some races and raising money for charity, but nothing serious or regular.

Earlier this week a social media app on my phone (of which I have many!) reminded me of a post I put on Facebook a year ago where I’d been inspired to go for a run by two friends who live about 40 miles away who were getting out and about.

Times have certainly changed-one of those friends has decided it’s not the exercise of choice for her and only runs on the odd occasion. The other is exceptionally pregnant and overdue so running isn’t really on her agenda right now 🙂

Over the last year I’ve covered a lot of miles. Some were hot and sunny, some cold and rainy. I’ve covered long distances as well as short. I’ve taken part in a few races-some were more successful than others! I’ve had sunburn and have injured my Achilles’ tendons in both legs. I managed to run 31 times in 31 days through January, and I’ve picked up a lovely new running partner along the way!

Running is now a part of my life. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to let it go, and I know that it takes me a long time to catch up again if I take a break. I get such a sense of achievement completing 2, 3, 4 miles during my lunch break. It gets me away from my desk and out into the open air.

I am a runner. And it’s great!

x

2 thoughts on “I Am A Runner

    1. It’s tough to get started. Even now if I have a break I get nervous about my first run back. If you can push through the first painful few weeks, something clicks and you start to enjoy it 🙂 I started by walking/jogging round the block under the cover of twilight (although you’d be surprised how many people really don’t notice you!) good luck if you decide to try it-let me know 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

