Baking

GBBO Challenge: Weeks 1&2

I’ve recently misplaced my baking mojo, and in an attempt to regain it, I thought it might be fun to try and follow along with The Great British Bake Off.

Clearly I’m not going to be conjuring up a Showstopper every week but I’m sure I could manage something that relates to the theme!

So, here we go….

Week 1: Cake

Lavender Cupcakes by Nigella Lawson (How To Be A Domestic Goddess)

I made these to take to a friend’s house and they went down a storm! This is only the second time I’ve made them and I was first introduced to lavender as a flavour when I had lavender shortbread at a promotion event for my LYS. It’s very distinctive, but subtle, well worth a try.

Week 2: Biscuits

Amaretti biscuits by Gino D’Acampo (BBC Food)

I’m a lover of amaretti biscuits, particularly the Lazzaroni di Saronno variety. These were made using a cheaper Amaretti liqueur which while still delicious was very different to the di Saronno I know and love! They aren’t like the Lazzaroni ones, which are made with apricot kernels and are much crispier. I’m still searching out a recipe to make those (the Lazzaroni mix is a closely guarded secret, damn it!)

Also I expected these to melt and smooth out a little – perhaps I should have piped the mixture rather than just spoon it on to the tray.

Is anyone else watching the GBBO? I think we’ve possibly got the best set of bakers yet. Anyone disagree with the decisions made so far?

Next GBBO related blog post: Bread

Next GBBO broadcast: Deserts!

Happy baking 🙂

x

Leave a Reply

