Baking · Crochet · Mystery Square CAL · Review · Sewing

The Month In Review – August

Phew, another busy month for me! It doesn’t feel like I got much finished, but I think I’ve made good progress on some projects.

MCAL Victorian Lattice

Getting there! Ideally by now I’d have 8 of the half-squares (on the right) and 4 quarter-squares (for the corners) but I’m a little behind. The next instalment should be published tomorrow so I’ll be crocheting as fast as I can to keep up.

GBBO Baking Challenge

Weeks 1, 2 and 3 of my challenge are complete! I’m enjoying this – and oh, the drama! Looking forward to seeing how this unfolds over the next few weeks! Oh and I made some banana muffins for good measure.

Jenny’s Faith Shawl

This has taken a back seat of late, but I hope to take it on holiday with me to work on later this month.

Henry’s Owl

I made another Owl Softie by Retro Mama for a friend with a beautiful new baby boy. They’ve received it and love it 🙂

IMG_4481.JPG

Mandala

Remember the mandala I made for Lucy from Attic24 as part of her Yarndale exhibition? Well, I’m very pleased to say it arrived safely and has been pictured on the Yarndale Pinterest page!

Crochet cushion

I previously started making a blanket using patterns from Jan Eaton’s 200 Crochet Blocks book (yes Mum, you can have it back soon!) to practise my crochet skills, but since I’ve been taking part in the MCAL I decided I didn’t need this project too.

So I made it into a cushion to use up the squares I had already made and a cushion pad I had lying around (plus it gets a WIP out of the way *high five*). You can see some of the squares are a little wonky in places – I hadn’t realised my crocheting error at that point!

I used this video by Bronislava Slagle to teach myself to join-as-you-go my crochet squares together, which gives a great cable effect and is much sturdier for my cushion, but I also found this video by Bella Coco which I think was more what I was expecting to see.

To join the squares I wanted to use a yarn that didn’t feature at all in the existing squares, so I went for this Stylecraft Special DK yarn in Viola. I’m a recent convert to Stylecraft; it’s 100% Acrylic but is sooooo soft to touch and is machine washable. And the best part is that it’s so affordable! Brilliant therefore for presents for babies!

I didn’t want to completely crochet closed the cover, so I laced it together with some green spotty Cath Kidston ribbon.

And that’s about it!

A few things I’d like to look at over the next few weeks:

Happy creating everyone! Do let me know what you’ve all been up to!

x

2 thoughts on “The Month In Review – August

Leave a Reply

