Crochet

Finito! Jenny’s Faith Shawl

A lovely little project this one, kept me busy on the train and during several hours spent in front of the tv.

It’s taken a few months, but I got there in the end. I even took it to Tenerife with me as it was portable and lightweight.

Here is the pattern on Ravelry for anyone interested.

However, as with most things I do, something went wrong(!) somewhere along the line!

I’ll mostly blame myself to be honest for not counting my stitches as I went along (there were just so many of them) and SOMEHOW I ended up with way more than I should have. However I don’t think that it has been to the detriment of the shawl and honestly, I’m still not totally sure where I went wrong!

I wonder if perhaps I should have used a slightly bigger hook – I was using a 3.5mm hook with Sirdar Country Style 4 ply in Mint (now discontinued, so in hindsight if I’d used a larger hook I’d have run out of yarn!), as it’s not ended up quite as large as I’d have liked. It’s now quietly blocking on my spare room floor note to self – by more childrens play blocks! and I’m hoping it will be okay. Otherwise I’ll need to come up with something to add along the neck edge to make it a little deeper.

I admit I struggled to understand the third part of the pattern, the lace border, from the instructions so I made it up a little 🙂 but hopefully it’s not too bad an effort!

Has anyone else tried this pattern and had similar issues?

Happy crocheting

Saz x

Leave a Reply

