Lifestyle

My favourite street!

Ipswich doesn’t have a great reputation and that reputation precedes it. I’ve lived here for nearly three years now, and I think I can safely say that it doesn’t always deserve that reputation! Sometimes you have to dig around for the positives, but they’re there.

I’m very fortunate that on my way to work each morning I get to walk along what I believe to be Ipswich’s nicest street! So I thought I’d share it with you 🙂

First up on my walk is a new shop called Crafty Baba. This little delight of a shop was only found online until a couple of months ago (and if you’re in the neighbourhood this coming Saturday, they’re having their official grand opening – with cake!).

Full of lovely fabrics and sewing bits and pieces, it also offers classes and workshops.

Slightly further along, is the wonderful Jenny Wren’s Yarns. Home to the Friday lunchtime knitting club (of which I am a member), it stocks a gorgeous range of beautiful yarns, including the Katia Azteca that I am making my MCAL blanket from.

Look at the lovely Halloween display! I’m booked in for a Tunisian crochet workshop in January, as well as a sock knitting course next Spring – I can’t wait.

Across the road, conveniently located for said knitting club, is a fantastic little coffee shop called Baker & Barista. Gorgeous coffee and fabulous lunches and cake. Plus a lovely courtyard to sit in when the weathers nice.

Then just to round off, a couple more treasures that I’m less familiar with but which are equally delicious:

Finishing Touches – Upholstery fabrics, curtains and blinds. They stock a great range of Clarke & Clarke Fabrics too.

Loveone – Beautiful vintage and handmade items. Perfect for gift shopping; I know this from experience.

@Twenty5 – A delightful family run restaurant, where I celebrated my birthday this year with my team over lunch and where I took my Mum & Dad when they came to visit us.

And not on this street, but to which I am a regular lunchtime visitor, is Franklins. Also found in Colchester and Chelmsford, it’s an absolute treasure trove of fabric, yarn and haberdashery goods. Its very rare that I can’t find what I want there. Plus they sell and service all different types of sewing machines, which is what their website is geared towards.

So there you go, if you’re ever in Ipswich, check out some of these places and support some local businesses.

Just before I go, in the spirit of supporting local companies, if you’re in need of some pampering after all your shopping stop by Purity Beauty (also found on the wonderful street this blog post is all about) which is quite frankly heavenly. I love it!

Happy shopping!

x

Leave a Reply

