Christmas · Embroidery · Knitting · Sewing

Christmas reveals

Ah, Christmas is now over. Well, I’m partaking in Christmas Day number 2 tomorrow, yippee! BUT it does mean I can reveal the things I’ve been working on as Father Christmas has passed them to the recipients. Whoop! Except one……………….. *sigh* There’s always one!! But he wasn’t expecting anything, so it’ll be an even better surprise in the New Year hehe.

Starting with my lovely little group of knitting buddies – I made them all a Christmas mug rug each, using 3patchcrafts Mustache Christmas pattern and some fabulous Riley Blake material.

Then onto my lovely friend (yep, the one I taught to knit earlier this year, whose knitting skills are now in demand!) – I had plans to make part of his Christmas present anyway, but then I was fortunate enough to draw him in our work Secret Santa (BONUS!) so I made him a wee coaster to free up the pad of Post-It notes currently being used for that purpose!

More lovely Riley Blake fabrics to make this reversible coaster, with a ‘tache to match the cup cosy I made him earlier this year.

For his actual gift this Christmas I got to stitching. I know he loves the Moomins (as do I), so I found a beautiful line drawing by Tove Jansson and proceeded to embroider it. The hardest part was sewing the felt to the back to finish it off!

Then came the scarf making! I have one friend for whom I make a scarf every year (although one year Santa ran out of time and he only ended up with half a scarf, but I stepped in to help and there was a complete scarf not long after Christmas day), and another friend for whom I’ve never made a scarf but wanted to give her something useful and homemade. I’ve done a lot of knitting over the last few weeks…

From train journeys to coffee shops, from friend’s houses to sitting in front of the football. But hopefully it’s been worth it. One basic big and chunky knit in Stylecraft Chunky Life Oatmeal and one slightly more detailed, made from Stylecraft DK Claret. That isn’t finished. Gah!

So there we are, all my reveals! Did you make any gifts this year? I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and got everything you hoped for 🙂

x

Leave a Reply

